On the boundedness of the set of stabilizing controllers Academic Article uri icon


  • This paper shows that the set of rational, strictly proper, robustly stabilizing controllers for single-input single-output linear-time invariant plants will form a bounded (can even be empty) set in the controller parameter space if and only if the order of the stabilizing controller cannot be reduced any further; if the set of proper stabilizing controllers of order r is not empty and the set of strictly proper controllers of order r is bounded, then r is the minimal order of stabilization. The paper also extends this result to characterize the set of controllers that guarantee some prespecified performance specifications. In particular, it is shown here that the minimal order of a controller that guarantees specified performance is l iff (1) there is a controller of order / guaranteeing the specified performance and (2) the set of strictly proper, robustly stabilizing controllers of order / and guaranteeing the performance is bounded. Moreover, if the order of the controller is increased, the set of higher-order controllers which satisfies the specified performance will necessarily be unbounded. This characterization is provided for performance specifications, such as gain margin and robust stability, which require a one-parameter family of real polynomials to be Hurwitz, where the parameter is in a closed interval. Other performance specifications, such as phase margin and norm, can be reduced to the problem of determining a set of stabilizing controllers that renders a family of complex polynomials Hurwitz. The characterization of the set of controllers for the stabilization of complex polynomials is provided and is used to show the boundedness properties for the set of controllers that guarantee a given phase margin or an upper bound on the norm. Copyright 2007 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

published proceedings


author list (cited authors)

  • Malik, W. A., Darbha, S., & Bhattacharyya, S. P.

citation count

  • 0

complete list of authors

  • Malik, Waqar A||Darbha, Swaroop||Bhattacharyya, SP

publication date

  • May 2008