Proteomics analysis of mature seed of four peanut cultivars using two-dimensional gel electrophoresis reveals distinct differential expression of storage, anti-nutritional, and allergenic proteins Academic Article uri icon


  • Profiles of total seed proteins isolated from mature seeds of four peanut cultivars, New Mexico Valencia C (NM Valencia C), Tamspan 90, Georgia Green, and NC-7, were studied using two-dimensional gel electrophoresis coupled with nano-electrospray ionization liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry (nESI-LC-MS/MS). Two-dimensional gels stained with silver nitrate revealed a total of 457, 516, 556, and 530 protein spots in NM Valencia C, Tamspan 90, Georgia Green, and NC-7, respectively. Twenty abundant protein spots showing differences in relative abundance among these cultivars were analyzed by nESI-LC-MS/MS, resulting in identification of 14 non-redundant proteins. The majority of these proteins belonged to the globulin fraction consisting of arachin (glycinin and Arah3/4) and conarachin seed storage proteins as well as other allergen proteins. The expression of some of these identified protein spots was cultivar-specific. For example, allergen Arah3/Arah4 and conarachin protein spots were only detected in Tamspan 90 and NC-7, whereas the Gly1 protein spot was detected only in NM Valencia C and NC-7. Moreover, a galactose-binding lectin protein spot with anti-nutritive properties was only present in Tamspan 90. Other proteins showing differences in relative abundance among the four cultivars included 13-lipoxygenase, fructose-biphosphate aldolase, and glyceraldehyde 3-phosphate dehydrogenase. Together, these results suggest that identified proteins might serve as potential markers for cultivar differentiation and may be associated with underlying sensory and nutritional traits of peanut cultivars.

published proceedings

  • Plant Science

author list (cited authors)

  • Kottapalli, K. R., Payton, P., Rakwal, R., Agrawal, G. K., Shibato, J., Burow, M., & Puppala, N.

citation count

  • 47

complete list of authors

  • Kottapalli, Kameswara Rao||Payton, Paxton||Rakwal, Randeep||Agrawal, Ganesh Kumar||Shibato, Junko||Burow, Mark||Puppala, Naveen

publication date

  • September 2008