Analysis of transcription factor network underlying 3T3-L1 adipocyte differentiation. Academic Article uri icon


  • Lipid accumulation in adipocytes reflects a balance between enzymatic pathways leading to the formation and breakdown of esterified lipids, primarily triglycerides. This balance is extremely important, as both high and low lipid levels in adipocytes can have deleterious consequences. The enzymes responsible for lipid synthesis and breakdown (lipogenesis and lipolysis, respectively) are regulated through the coordinated actions of several transcription factors (TFs). In this study, we examined the dynamics of several key transcription factors (TFs) - PPAR, C/EBP, CREB, NFAT, FoxO1, and SREBP-1c - during adipogenic differentiation (week 1) and ensuing lipid accumulation. The activation profiles of these TFs at different times following induction of adipogenic differentiation were quantified using 3T3-L1 reporter cell lines constructed to secrete the Gaussia luciferase enzyme upon binding of a TF to its DNA binding element. The dynamics of the TFs was also modeled using a combination of logical gates and ordinary differential equations, where the logical gates were used to explore different combinations of activating inputs for PPAR, C/EBP, and SREBP-1c. Comparisons of the experimental profiles and model simulations suggest that SREBP-1c could be independently activated by either insulin or PPAR, whereas PPAR activation required both C/EBP as well as a putative ligand. Parameter estimation and sensitivity analysis indicate that feedback activation of SREBP-1c by PPAR is negligible in comparison to activation of SREBP-1c by insulin. On the other hand, the production of an activating ligand could quantitatively contribute to a sustained elevation in PPAR activity.

published proceedings

  • PLoS One

altmetric score

  • 0.5

author list (cited authors)

  • Choi, K., Ghaddar, B., Moya, C., Shi, H., Sridharan, G. V., Lee, K., & Jayaraman, A.

citation count

  • 10

complete list of authors

  • Choi, KyungOh||Ghaddar, Bassel||Moya, Colby||Shi, Hai||Sridharan, Gautham V||Lee, Kyongbum||Jayaraman, Arul

editor list (cited editors)

  • Chan, C.

publication date

  • July 2014