A review of the terrestrial cavernicolous fauna of Romania. Academic Article uri icon


  • Romania is divided into 5 biospeleological provinces based upon the present distribution of the endemic troglobitic and edaphobitic fauna. Ancestors of this fauna migrated into Romania primarily from the north Aegean region probably at various times during the Tertiary Age. Four paleographic barriers - the corridors of the Danube, Timis-Cerna, Olt, and Mures Rivers - acted to constrain the migration routes and settlement areas, thus producing distinct patterns in the distribution of the cave fauna in the Carpathians. The present day terrestrial troglobitic fauna of Romania consists of 208 known species and subspecies, including 126 Coleoptera, 23 Araneae, 20 Diplopoda, 12 Collembola, 8 Pseudoscorpiones, and 6 Isopoda. Over 97% of these troglobitic taxa are endemic, and >80% are paleotroglobitic. -Authors

published proceedings

  • NSS Bulletin

author list (cited authors)

  • Decu, V. G., & Iliffe, T. M.

complete list of authors

  • Decu, VG||Iliffe, TM

publication date

  • January 1983