Current Status of Agricultural Extension in China Academic Article uri icon


  • © 2016, American Society for Horticultural Science. All rights reserved. Information on the history, legislative background, and current five levels (national, provincial, county, municipal, and township level) of the agricultural extension system in China are presented herein. In addition to the five levels, there are also six administrative agencies involved: Ministry of Agriculture, State Forestry Administration, Ministry of Science and Technology, Ministry of Education, National Agriculture Leadership Working Group, and National Development and Reform Commission. An example (Zhongfang Township, City of Luoyuan, Fuzhou County, Fujian Province) is given to illustrate the intricate network of the agricultural extension system. Major problems of the Chinese extension system include a complex and inefficient extension network, disconnection between the extension service and stakeholders’ needs, and a ‘‘two-boss’’ dilemma for most extension agencies. However, some current success stories in Chinese agricultural extension may be applicable or provide useful tips to other countries including the United States.

altmetric score

  • 3.55

author list (cited authors)

  • Cheng, F. u., Chen, Q., Gu, M., & Peng, D.

citation count

  • 0

publication date

  • December 2016