Collection characteristics of a batch-type wetted wall bioaerosol sampling cyclone Academic Article uri icon


  • The collection efficiency and sample retention of a batch-type wetted wall bioaerosol sampling cyclone (BWWC) were experimentally characterized. The BWWC is designed to sample air at 400 l/min and concentrate the particles into 12 ml of water. Aerosol is transported into a cylindrically-shaped axial flow cyclone through a tangential slot and the particles are impacted on the inner wall, which is wetted by air shear acting on a liquid pool at the base of the cyclone. The retention of collected particles and the aerosol collection efficiency of the BWWC were evaluated with polystyrene latex beads (PSL), sodium fluorescein/oleic acid droplets, and Bacillus atrophaeus (aka BG) spores. The retention of particles was determined by adding hydrosol directly into the device, running the BWWC for a pre-set period of time, and then determining the amount of particulate matter recovered relative to the initial amount. For 1-m diameter PSL, 90% of the particles were recoverable from the cyclone body immediately after their introduction; however, only 10% were retained in the collection liquid after 8 h of operation. The aerosol sampling efficiency was determined by comparing the amount of particulate matter collected in the liquid with that collected by a reference filter. The collection efficiency was 50-60% for 1- and 3-m polystyrene (PSL) particles, and 1.5% for 10-m oleic acid particles. The efficiency for 3-m oleic acid droplets was 35%. Explanations are provided for the difference between liquid and solid particle behavior, and for the low efficiency for the large liquid particles. The collection efficiency for single spore BG was slightly lower than that for 1-m PSL. 2009 Springer Science+Business Media B.V.

published proceedings


author list (cited authors)

  • King, M. D., Thien, B. F., Tiirikainen, S., & McFarland, A. R.

citation count

  • 17

complete list of authors

  • King, Maria D||Thien, Ben F||Tiirikainen, Suvi||McFarland, Andrew R

publication date

  • December 2009