The Triple GEM Detector Control System for CMS forward muon spectrometer upgrade Academic Article uri icon


  • CERN 2017 for the benefit of the CMS collaboration. The CMS experiment at LHC will upgrade its forward muon spectrometer by incorporating Triple-GEM detectors. This upgrade referred to as GEM Endcap (GE1/1), consists of adding two back-to-back Triple-GEM detectors in front of the existing Cathode Strip Chambers (CSC) in the innermost ring of the endcap muon spectrometer. Before the full installation of 144 detectors in 20192020, CMS will first install ten single chamber prototypes during the early 2017. This pre-installation is referred as the slice test. These ten detectors will be read-out by VFAT2 chips [1]. On-detector there is also a FPGA mezzanine card which sends VFAT2 data optically to the TCA back-end electronics. The correct and safe operation of the GEM system requires a sophisticated and powerful online Detector Control System, able to monitor and control many heterogeneous hardware devices. The DCS system developed for the slice test has been tested with CMS Triple-GEM detectors in the laboratory. In this paper we describe the newly developed DCS system and present the first results obtained in the GEM assembly and quality assurance laboratory.

published proceedings


altmetric score

  • 1.25

author list (cited authors)

  • Ahmed, W., Abbaneo, D., Abbas, M., Abbrescia, M., Abdelalim, A. A., Aki, M. A., ... Zhang, A.

citation count

  • 2

complete list of authors

  • Ahmed, W||Abbaneo, D||Abbas, M||Abbrescia, M||Abdelalim, AA||Aki, M Abi||Acosta, D||Ahmad, A||Ahmed, W||Aleksandrov, A||Aly, R||Altieri, P||Asawatangtrakuldee, C||Aspe, P||Assran, Y||Awan, I||Bally, S||Ban, Y||Banerjee, S||Barashko, V||Barria, P||Bencze, G||Beni, N||Benussi, L||Bhopatkar, V||Bianco, S||Bos, J||Bouhali, O||Holme, O||Braghieri, A||Braibant, S||Buontempo, S||Khan, SA||Calabria, C||Caponero, M||Caputo, C||Cassese, F||Castaneda, A||Cauwenbergh, S||Cavallo, FR||Celik, A||Choi, M||Choi, S||Christiansen, J||Cimmino, A||Colafranceschi, S||Colaleo, A||Garcia, A Conde||Czellar, S||Dabrowski, MM||De Lentdecker, G||De Oliveira, R||De Robertis, G||Dildick, S||Dorney, B||Elmetenawee, W||Endroczi, G||Errico, F||Fenyvesi, A||Ferry, S||Furic, I||Giacomelli, P||Gilmore, J||Golovtsov, V||Guiducci, L||Guilloux, F||Gutierrez, A||Hadjiiska, RM||Hassan, A||Hauser, J||Hoepfner, K||Hohlmann, M||Hoorani, H||Shah, AH||Laydjiev, P||Jeng, YG||Kamon, T||Karchin, P||Korytov, A||Krutelyov, S||Kumar, A||Kim, H||Lenzi, T||Litov, L||Loddo, F||Madorsky, A||Maerschalk, T||Maggi, M||Magnani, A||Mal, PK||Mandal, K||Marchioro, A||Marinov, A||Majumdar, N||Merlin, JA||Mitselmakher, G||Mohanty, AK||Mohapatra, A||Molnar, J||Muhammad, S||Mukhopadhyay, S||Naimuddin, M||Nuzzo, S||Oliveri, E||Pant, LM||Paolucci, P||Park, I||Passeggio, G||Pavlov, B||Philipps, B||Piccolo, D||Postema, H||Baranac, A Puig||Radi, A||Radogna, R||Raffone, G||Ranieri, A||Rashevski, G||Riccardi, C||Rodozov, M||Rodrigues, A||Ropelewski, L||RoyChowdhury, S||Ryu, G||Ryu, MS||Safonov, A||Salva, S||Saviano, G||Sharma, A||Sharma, R||Shopova, M||Sturdy, J||Sultanov, G||Swain, SK||Szillasi, Z||Talvitie, J||Tatarinov, A||Tuuva, T||Tytgat, M||Vai, I||Van Stenis, M||Venditti, R||Verhagen, E||Verwilligen, P||Vitulo, P||Volkov, S||Vorobyev, A||Wang, D||Wang, M||Yang, U||Yang, Y||Yonamine, R||Zaganidis, N||Zenoni, F||Zhang, A

publication date

  • February 2017