Characterisation of NEXT-DEMO using xenon K X-rays Academic Article uri icon


  • 2014 IOP Publishing Ltd and Sissa Medialab srl. The NEXT experiment aims to observe the neutrinoless double beta decay of 136Xe in a high-pressure xenon gas TPC using electroluminescence (EL) to amplify the signal from ionization. Understanding the response of the detector is imperative in achieving a consistent and well understood energy measurement. The abundance of xenon K-shell X-ray emission during data taking has been identified as a multitool for the characterisation of the fundamental parameters of the gas as well as the equalisation of the response of the detector. The NEXT-DEMO prototype is a 1.5 kg volume TPC filled with natural xenon. It employs an array of 19 PMTs as an energy plane and of 256 SiPMs as a tracking plane with the TPC light tube and SiPM surfaces being coated with tetraphenyl butadiene (TPB) which acts as a wavelength shifter for the VUV scintillation light produced by xenon. This paper presents the measurement of the properties of the drift of electrons in the TPC, the effects of the EL production region, and the extraction of position dependent correction constants using KX-ray deposits. These constants were used to equalise the response of the detector to deposits left by gammas from 22Na.

published proceedings

  • Journal of Instrumentation

altmetric score

  • 1.25

author list (cited authors)

  • Lorca, D., Martn-Albo, J., Laing, A., Ferrario, P., Gmez-Cadenas, J. J., lvarez, V., ... Yahlali, N.

citation count

  • 25

complete list of authors

  • Lorca, D||Martín-Albo, J||Laing, A||Ferrario, P||Gómez-Cadenas, JJ||Álvarez, V||Borges, FIG||Camargo, M||Cárcel, S||Cebrián, S||Cervera, A||Conde, CAN||Dafni, T||Díaz, J||Esteve, R||Fernandes, LMP||Ferreira, AL||Freitas, EDC||Gehman, VM||Goldschmidt, A||Gómez, H||González-Díaz, D||Gutiérrez, RM||Hauptman, J||Morata, JA Hernando||Herrera, DC||Irastorza, IG||Labarga, L||Liubarsky, I||Losada, M||Luzón, G||Marí, A||Martínez-Lema, G||Martínez, A||Miller, T||Monrabal, F||Monserrate, M||Monteiro, CMB||Mora, FJ||Moutinho, LM||Vidal, J Muñoz||Nebot-Guinot, M||Nygren, D||Oliveira, CAB||Pérez, J||Aparicio, JL Pérez||Renner, J||Ripoll, L||Rodríguez, A||Rodríguez, J||Santos, FP||dos Santos, JMF||Seguí, L||Serra, L||Shuman, D||Simón, A||Sofka, C||Sorel, M||Toledo, JF||Torrent, J||Tsamalaidze, Z||Veloso, JFCA||Webb, R||White, JT||Yahlali, N

publication date

  • January 2014