Isospin-Forbidden Decay Properties of the Lowest T=2 States of Ne20, Mg24, Si28, S32, and Ca40 Academic Article uri icon


  • The lowest T=2 states of Ne20, Mg24, Si28, S32, and Ca40 have been formed using the (p,At) reaction. The isospin-forbidden proton (T=1AorA2) and -particle (T=2) decay modes of these states have been determined by counting triton-proton and triton- coincidence events. The major decay modes of the states are Ne20(1+2,A3+4), Mg24(p0), Si28(0), S32(p0), Ca40(0). Simple Coulomb calculations were performed for Ca40; these assumed pure shell-model configurations and considered isospin mixing in only the (1d,A1f) shells. They did not predict the relatively large T=2 isospin impurities necessary to explain the observed -particle decay. 1970 The American Physical Society.

published proceedings

  • Physical Review C

author list (cited authors)

  • McGrath, R. L., Cerny, J., Hardy, J. C., Goth, G., & Arima, A.

citation count

  • 15

complete list of authors

  • McGrath, Robert L||Cerny, Joseph||Hardy, JC||Goth, G||Arima, Akito

publication date

  • January 1970