Profiles in Science for Science Librarians: Recent Top Award-Winning Geoscientists Academic Article uri icon


  • Several awards are given in areas of the geosciences that are thought to be the highest honors in their field and generally considered to parallel the Nobel Prize. In atmospheric science, the highest award is the Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal given by the American Meteorological Society (AMS). The 2012 winner is John C. Wyngaard. For oceanography, the highest award is the Alexander Agassiz Medal, awarded by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. The 2010 winner is Sallie W. Chisholm. For geology, the highest award is the Vetlesen Prize. The 2012 prize was split between climate scientists Susan Solomon and Jean Jouzel. 2013 Published with license by Taylor & Francis.

published proceedings

  • Science & Technology Libraries

author list (cited authors)

  • Kimball, R.

citation count

  • 0

complete list of authors

  • Kimball, Rusty

publication date

  • January 2013